Showing posts with label this is such a bad idea. Show all posts
Showing posts with label this is such a bad idea. Show all posts

Tuesday, August 30, 2011

T minus one day.

I have photocopied my SS card, passport, visa, marriage certificate, residency certification, and birth certificate.

I have converted a big chunk of cash into traveler's checks. And photocopied their serial numbers.

I have compressed everything I'm bringing (there is a small box of winter [ha! cooler weather, really] clothes) into a duffel bag and a suitcase.

Elsa's carrier is set and ready, complete with bribe.

My uncle (who owns a limo company) is sending a driver to bring me to the airport on Wednesday at 5:30am.

My appointment with APHIS is tomorrow morning at 10am.

Left to do: A little packing, deposit a check, some online stuff, trip to PetSm*, few hours at work, figure out how my paychecks will go to Japan, shower.

Looking at everything I've done, I'm surprised I'm as calm as I am. I'm sure I'll be freaking out the day of, but...

Still.

Where did I get the courage to do this?

Tuesday, August 9, 2011

Stresses building up again

Yakkan Shoumei bounced back to me. Resubmitting today. Grr grr grr.

But on the bright side, hitting the bike trail tomorrow with papa. Biking through Colt State Park = endorphins and sunshine and exercise and no paperwork required.

FREE AS THE GODDAMN WIND BLOWS
I am planning more Dad-Dates while I'm here, as he'll be hardest hit by my absence. I'm taking him to the Boston Aquarium next week and picking up my passport while I'm at it.

Meanwhile, my mother is stressed to high heaven from the practice wearing down on her and I think no small measure of having an extra person living in the house. She's snapping a lot and becoming more and more erratic, so I'm taking a step back. It's a shame that I have to keep my distance, seeing as I'm moving away in under three weeks, but still. Being a daughter and working for her just means that there are now two places for me to irritate her, so the best solution is to just stay quiet and out of the way. She'll be fine when I leave, so I don't have to worry about the quality time as much as I do with others.

At least I now know where I got my rampaging instincts from.

Also, I've decided that I'm pretty much done traveling. Even taking hour-away trips has become taxing, and short of the trip I'll be taking to re-home the snake, I'm trying to limit them as much as possible.

And the stress level seriously sucks.